National Institute Of Technology,Kurukshetra



Name : Ashok Kumar
Designation : Assistant Professor
Qualification : Ph.D. (I.I.T. Kanpur)
Current Address :

Department of Physics, Nanomaterials Engineering and Energy Devices Group, National Institute of Technology Kurukshetra, Kurukshetra 136119 Haryana

Phone 1 (office) : +918950459784
Phone 2 (office) :
Email :

Area Of Intrest :

Physics of nanomaterials and thin films, Nanotechnology and energy based devices, Energy harvesting

Experience :

Predoctoral working experience- Germany, United Kingdom, The Netherlands Postdoctoral working experience- Virginia Tech., USA

Other :

Research Publications :

[1] Astakala Anil Kumar, Ashok Kumar, J. K. Quamara, G. R. Dillip, Sang Woo Joo and Jitendra Kumar, Fe (III) induced structural, optical, and dielectric behavior of cetyltrimethyl ammonium bromide stabilized strontium stannate  nanoparticles synthesized by facile wet chemistry route, RSC Adv. (DOI: 10.1039/C4RA16775A)(2015) 

[2] Ajaib Singh, Astakala Anil Kumar, Ashok Kumar, and Jitendra Kumar,  Fe(III) Induced behavior of hydrothermally synthesized tin dioxide nanoparticles, App. Mech. Mater. (accepted) (2015) 

[3] Ashok Kumar, Deepam Maurya, Yuan Zhao, Jonathan Metzman, James R. Heflin, Robert Bodnar and Shashank Priya, Opto-electrical behavior of Pb(Zn1/3Nb2/3)O3-Pb0.97 La0.03(Zr,Ti)O3 transparent ceramics with varying defect structure, (Energ. Harvest.  Syst.) DOI 10.1515/ehs-2014-0018 (2014)

[4] Deep Chandra Joshi , Subhash Thota, Sanjib Nayak , Durga Dayapule Harish , Peddigari Mahesh , Ashok Kumar, Dobbidi Pamu and Md. Qureshi, Dielectric behavior of Zn1-xNixO/NiO two-phase composite, Journal of Physics D. 47 435305 (1-8) (2014)

[5] Astakala Anil Kumar, Ashok Kumar, J. K. Quamara and Shashank Priya, Fe(III) induced structural, optical, magnetic and electrical behavior of hydrothermally synthesized polyvinyl pyrrolidone capped CdS nanoparticles, Chalcogenide Lett. 11, 381-388 (2014)

[6] Shaheen Goel, Ashok Kumar, J. K. Quamara and Jitendra Kumar, Structural, optical and magnetic properties of Fe doped Cr2O3 nanoparticles, Adv. Sci. Lett. 20, 1562-1566 (2014)

[7]  Jaspreet Kocher, Ashok Kumar, Ashavani Kumar, Shashank Priya and Jitendra Kumar, Nickel induced structural, optical, magnetic, and electrical behavior of a-Fe2O3, Physica Status Solidi B, 251, 1552-1557 (2014)

[8] Yu Zhao, Ashok Kumar, Giti A. Khodaparast, Amnah Eltahir, Hsin Wang and Shashank Priya, Sintering temperature-dependent chemical defects and the effect on the electrical resistivity of thermoelectric ZnO,  Energ. Harvest.  Syst., 1, 113-119, (2014)

[9]  Ashok Kumar, Vishnu Prasad Shrivastava, Deepam Maurya, Seung Soon, Ja Young, Bo Yun Jang, Jitendra Kumar and Shashank Priya, Large red emission efficiency of europium activated, bismuth sensitized fine-grain calcium molybdate phosphors, Adv. Chem. Lett. (doi:10.1166/acl.2014.1047) (2014)

[10] Ashok Kumar, Subhash Thota, Dinesh Deva, and Jitendra Kumar, Ion-induced secondary electron emission, optical and hydration resistant behaviour of MgO, Mg-Mo-O and Mg-Ce-O thin films, Thin Solid Films, 556, 260–269 (2014)

[11] Yu Zhao, Ashok Kumar, Celine Hin and Shashank Priya, Nanoscale Self-Assembled Oxide Bulk Thermoelectrics, in the book entitled ‘Nanoscale Thermoelectrics’ (Springer, ISBN 978-3-319-02011-2), Vol 16, pp. 540 (2014)

[12] Ashok Kumar, Subhash Thota, Sri Sivakumar, Shashank Priya and Jitendra Kumar, Sol-gel synthesis and optical behavior of Mg-Ce-O nano-crystallites, J. Sol-gel Sci. Technol., 68 46–53 (2013)

[13] Dragan Avirovik, Ashok Kumar, Robert J. Bodnar and Shashank Priya, Remote light energy harvesting and actuation using shape memory alloy- piezoelectric hybrid transducer, Smart Mater. Struct. 22, 052001 (1-6) (2013) (fast track communication)

[14] Su-Chul Yang, Ashok Kumar, Valeri Petkov and Shashank Priya, Room-temperature magnetoelectric coupling in single-phase BaTiO3-BiFeO3 system, J. Appl. Phys., 113, 144101(1-5) (2013)

[15]  Subhash Thota, Subrat Kumar Das, Ashok Kumar, Sambasivam Sangaraju and Byung Chun Choi, Memory effects and relaxation dynamics of MnCo2O4 nanocrystallites,IEEE Transactions on Magnetics, 49, 1-4 (2013)

Awards :

  • Merits won: Fast Track Scheme for Young Scientists (DST)-2013, Invention Award, Intellectual Ventures -2011, Most Popular Micrograph Award, Materials Advantage- 2009,

Ph.D Supervised :

  • Astakala Anil Kumar,  Perovskite structured, alkaline earth stannate, nanomaterials for energy applications, (ongoing) 

M.Tech Dissertations :


1. Jaspreet Kocher, Nickel induced structural, spectroscopic, magnetic and electrical behavior of a-Fe2O3 nanostrutured bulk thermoelectrics (Current Position: Govt. Job) M.Tech. Instrumentation (2012-2014)

2. Shaheen Goel, Fe(III) induced structural, optical, magnetic and electrical properties of Cr2O3  nanostructures and their application as a photoanode in dye sensitized solar cell (Current Position:...........)  M.Tech. Nanotechnology (2012-2014)

3. Ajaib Singh, Fe(III) induced structural, optical and magnetic behavior of hydrothermally synthesized SnO2 nanoparticles and their application in dye sensitized solar cell (Current position: Ph.D. at IIT Indore) M.Tech. Nanotechnology (2012-2014)

4. Vikas Sahrawat, Fabrication of Dye-Sensitized Solar Cell using SrSnO3, M.Tech. (Material Science and Nanotechnology (2013-2015)

5. Deepak Singh Rajput, Efficiency enhancement in Dye-sensitized solar cells by up conversion, M.Tech. Instrumentation (2012-2014)

(Completed 05, Ongoing 04)

Sponsored R & D Projects :

  • Science and Engineering Research Board (SERB), Solar Cell, 2013-2016

Other :

Coordinator- One week short-term course on Emerging materials: Characterization and applications, held at NIT Kurukshetra during June 13-17, 2014. Coordinator- One day workshop on Simulation tools for nanostructure and device modeling, held at NIT Kurukshetra on March 21, 2015. Coordinator- One week short-term course on Nanomaterials for Two Dimensional Devices and Energy Applications, held at NIT Kurukshetra during July 20-24, 2015. Council of Scientific and Industrial Research, National Eligibility Test, Fellowship Graduate Aptitude Test in Engineering Fellowship