National Institute Of Technology,Kurukshetra

Biography OF Surjit Angra


Professor & Head

Mechanical Engineering Department

National Institute of Technology

Kurukshetra-136119, India

Phone: 8570865708(M), 01744-233556(O)

Email ID:


He did his B.Sc. Engg. (Mechanical) from REC, Kurukshetra in 1981. He did his M.Tech (Mechanical) in 1986 and Ph.D in 1995 from REC, Kurukshetra, presently known as NIT Kurukshetra. His area of interest is Industrial Tribology and Machine Design. He has guided/guiding 09 Ph.D thesis and has supervised 45 M.Tech dissertations. He has published more than 85 research papers in the area of his research work in the International Journals like Tribology letters, Journals of ASME, Tribology International, Journals of Reliability and system safety, journal of Engg. & Material Science, Journal of IEI and proceedings of ISME and ISTAM etc.

He has been Director of All India Council for Technical Education, Ministry of HRD, Govt. of India from 2005 to 2008, during this period he worked as Regional Director south west, Regional Director Eastern region of AICTE and Bureau Head of Academics Bureau. National Institute of Technology, Uttarakhand at Srinagar was also started in 2010 under his guidance & he acted as founder Dean (Acad.) of NIT Uttarakhand.

He is Fellow of the Institution of Engineers (India). He is life member of the Indian Society of Technical Education and Indian Society of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics. He is member of SAEINDIA and founder faculty Advisor of SAEINDIA NIT Kurukshetra Collegiate Club. He has organized (18) National Seminars and Conferences in collaboration with educational institutions, industry and professional bodies. He has also organized 10 National level Technical Workshops for the students. Presently he is Secretary of ISTAM North Zone Chapter. He was member of the Executive Council of ISTAM 1995-1998 and 2001-2004. He has been Honorary Secretary of IE(I) Haryana State Centre 2001-2003 and Chairman of the Institution of Engineers (India), Haryana State Centre 2003-2005. He was awarded by the Governor of Haryana on 36th Engineer’s Day for his contribution in Engineering Activities in the State of Haryana.