NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY KURUKSHETRA-136119

Minutes of the 27th (Special) meeting of the Senate of National Institute of Technology, Kurukshetra held on 26.02.2016 at 04.00 p.m. in the Senate Hall of the Institute.

The following were present:

Sr. No. Name of the Senator (s)

Prof. Anand Mohan, Director & Hon'ble Chairman, Senate

Senate Members (Department & alphabetical order)

Civil Engineering Department

- 2. Arun Goel, Professor
- 3. Ashwani Jain, Professor
- 4. Baldev Setia, Professor
- 5. H K Sharma, Professor
- K K Singh, Professor
- 7. Praveen Aggarwal, Professor
- 8. Saraswati Setia, Professor
- 9. S K Madan, Professor
- 10. S M Gupta, Professor
- 11. S N Sachdeva, Professor
- 12. V K Arora, Professor
- 13. V K Sehgal, Professor
- 14. V P Singh, Professor

Computer Engineering Department

- 15. Mayank Dave, Professor
- 16. Sanjay Kumar Jain Professor

Chemistry Department

- 17. Dinesh Kumar, Professor
- 18. D P Singh, Professor
- 19. Minati Baral, Professor

Computer Application Department

20. Ashutosh Kumar Singh, Professor

Electrical Engineering Department

- 21. A. Swarup, Professor
- 22. G L Pahuja, Professor
- 23. Jagdeep Singh Lather, Professor
- 24. Jyoti Ohri, Professor
- 25. K S Sandhu, Professor
- 26. Lillie Dewan, Professor
- 27. L M Saini, Professor
- 28. Ratna Dahiya, Professor
- 29. R S Bhatia, Professor
- 30. Sathans, Professor

Electronics & Communication Engineering Department

- 31. A K Gupta, Professor
- 32. O P Sahu, Professor
- 33. Rajoo Pandey, Professor
- 34. R K Sharma, Professor
- 35. Umesh Ghanekar, Professor

Const

routely.

Humanities & Social Sciences Department 36. Kiran, Professor 37. Rajendra Kumar, Professor 38. Vikas Choudhary, Professor **Mechanical Engineering Department** 39. Ajai Jain, Professor 40. Dinesh Khanduja, Professor 41. Dixit Garg, Professor 42. Gian Bhushan, Professor 43. Hari Singh, Professor 44. P C Tewari, Professor 45. S S Rattan, Professor 46. Sudhir Kumar, Professor 47. V K Bajpai, Professor **Mathematics Department** 48. ASV Ravikanth, Associate Professor & Head **Physics Department** 49. Ashavani Kumar, Professor 50. J K Quamara, Professor 51. Neena Jaggi Professor **Business Administration** 52. Neeraj Kaushik, Associate Professor & Head Coordinator Special Group for Skill Development 53. PJ Philip, Coordinator (Special Invitee) Secretary, Senate 54. G.R. Samantaray, Registrar Incharge & Secretary, Senate The following members could not attend the meeting: Sr. No. Name of the Senator (s) 1. Prof. Konduri Raja Rajeswari, External Member 2. Prof. Yashwant Singh, External Member Prof. D K Nauriyal, External Member Senate Members (Department & alphabetical order) Civil Engineering Department 4. Anupam Mittal, Professor 5. D K Soni, Professor 6. Mahesh Pal, Professor 7. Pratibha Aggarwal, Professor 8. S K Patidar, Professor 9. Subodh Ranian, Professor Surinder Deswal, Professor **Computer Engineering Department** A K Singh, Professor

12. J K Chhabra, ProfessorElectrical Engineering Department13. Ashwani Kumar, Professor

05211

14. Yash Pal, Professor

Page 2 of 5

Electronics & Communication Engineering Department

15. Brahmjit Singh, Professor

Mechanical Engineering Department

16. Pankaj Chandna, Professor

17. Surjit Angra, Professor

Mathematics Department

18 Paras Ram, Professor

At the outset, Registrar & Secretary, Senate welcomed the members and requested the Chair to address the Senate.

The Chairman, Senate welcomed the Senators and informed that the 13th Convocation of the Institute is scheduled to be held on Friday, March 04, 2016. He also informed that the Special meeting of the Senate is being convened to consider the agenda items associated with the 13th Convocation. Thereafter, the Chair requested the Dean (Academic) to present the agenda.

With the permission of the Chair, the Dean (Academic) presented the table agenda item no. 27.5 first.

TABLE AGENDA

Item 27.5 To consider tie-breaking rules among students having the same SGPA/CGPA for award of academic prizes, certificates, medals etc.

The Senate discussed various options suggested by the members for resolving the tie among students having the same SGPA/CGPA for award of academic prizes, certificates, medals. It was decided that the tie may be resolved by using the following criterion.

For all programmes, for the students having tie at the top position, the CGPA/SGPA of previous semesters will be considered in reverse order up to the first semester of that programme till the tie is resolved. Thus, among the students who have tie, the student who has higher CGPA/SGPA in the previous semester (s) will be declared the topper.

The Senate approved the above tie-braking rule and confirmed the minutes of this agenda.

Cont provide

Item 27.1 Approval to the list of students to be awarded degrees in 13th Convocation

The Senate approved the lists of the students to be awarded their respective degrees of Ph. D., M. Tech., MBA, MCA and B. Tech. These degrees are to be conferred upon the awardees on the occasion of 13th Convocation of the Institute scheduled on 04th March 2016. The Senate was informed that the final lists of degree awardees would be available on the Institute website.

A total 1183 degrees are to be awarded on 13th Convocation of the Institute as per the following breakup.

Sr. No.	Programme	Number of Students
1	Ph. D.	30
2	M. Tech.	311
3	MBA	51
4	MCA	83
5	B.Tech.	708
Total		1183

It was also resolved that some more students who become eligible for award of degrees will also be added to the existing lists after due approval of the Chairman, Senate.

The Senate confirmed the minutes of this agenda.

Item 27.2 Approval for awarding Medal, Academic and cash Prizes to the students.

The Senate approved the names of students to be awarded medals and academic prizes after resolving the existing tie as per resolution approved by the Senate for table agenda item no. 27.5. The Senate was informed that the final list of students for the award, medal and academic prizes will be made available on Institute website.

The Senate confirmed the minutes of this agenda.

Item 27.3 To note the pass percentage of students of undergraduate and postgraduate courses and the campus placement status during academic year 2014-15

The Senate noted the pass percentage of students during academic year 2014-15. As directed by the Senate in its 25th meeting under item no. 25.7, the results summary of B.Tech. Programme for last four years were presented in the form of bar charts.

The Senate also noted campus placement status during academic year 2014-15, presented in the form of bar charts for last four years.

The Senate confirmed the minutes of this agenda.

Item 27.4 To consider conferment of Honorary Degree of Ph. D. (Honoris causa) on Padma Bhushan Shri S. Ramadorai, Adviser to Prime Minister on Skill Development and former CEO, TCS

The Bio-data of Shri S. Ramadorai, Adviser to Prime Minister on Skill Development and former CEO, TCS was presented before the Senate.

The Senate approved the conferment of Honorary Degree of Ph. D. (Honoris Causa) on Padma Bhushan Shri S. Ramadorai.

The Senate confirmed the minutes of this agenda.

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

(G.R. Samantaray) 126/02/16 & Secretary, Senate

Registrar I / C & Secretary, Senate

NIT Kurukshetra

(Baldev Setia)
Dean (Academic)
NIT, Kurukshetra

(Anand Mohan)

Director & Chairman, Senate

NIT, Kurukshetra