NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY KURUKSHETRA

Minutes of the 28th meeting of the Senate of National Institute of Technology, Kurukshetra held on 05.08.2016 at 5.00 p.m. in the Senate Hall of the Institute.

The following were present:

1. Prof. V.K. Arora, Director & Hon'ble Chairman, Senate

Senate Members (Department & alphabetical order)

CIVIL ENGINEERING DEPARTMENT

- 1. Prof. Arun Goel, Professor
- 2. Prof. Ashwani Jain, Professor
- 3. Prof. Baldev Setia, Professor
- 4. Prof. D.K Soni, Professor
- 5. Prof. K.K. Singh, Professor
- 6. Prof. Parveen Aggarwal, Professor
- 7. Prof. Pratibha Aggarwal, Professor
- 8. Prof. Saraswati Setia, Professor
- 9. Prof. S.K. Madan, Professor
- 10. Prof. S.K. Patidar, Professor
- 11. Prof. S.M. Gupta, Professor
- 12. Prof. S.N. Sachdeva, Professor
- 13. Prof. Subodh Ranjan, Professor
- 14. Prof. Surinder Deswal, Professor
- 15. Prof. V.K Sehgal, Professor

COMPUTER ENGINEERING DEPARTMENT

- 16. Prof. A. K. Singh, Professor
- 17. Prof. J.K Chhabra, Professor
- 18. Prof. Mayank Dave, Professor
- 19 Prof. Sanjay Kumar Jain, Professor

CHEMISTRY DEPARTMENT

- 20. Prof. Dinesh Kumar, Professor
- 21. Prof. DP Singh, Professor
- 22. Prof. Minati Baral, Professor

COMPUTER APPLICATION DEPARTMENT

23. Prof. Ashutosh Kumar Singh, Professor

CAM

Bodie Of

M

Page 1 of 5

ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING DEPARTMENT

- 24. Prof. G.L Pahuja, Professor
- 25. Prof. Jagdeep Singh Lather, Professor
- 26. Prof. Jyoti Ohri, Professor
- 27. Prof. K.S. Sandhu, Professor
- 28. Prof. Lillie Dewan, Professor
- 29. Prof. L.M. Saini, Professor
- 30. Prof. Ratna Dahiya, Professor
- 31. Prof. R.S Bhatia, Professor
- 32. Prof. Sathans, Professor
- 33. Prof. Yashpal, Professor

ELECTRONICS & COMMUNICATION ENGINEERING DEPARTMENT

- 34. Prof. Brahmjit Singh, Professor
- 35. Prof. O.P. Sahu, Professor
- 36. Prof. Rajoo Pandey, Professor
- 37. Prof. R.K. Sharma, Professor
- 38. Prof. Umesh Ghanekar, Professor

HUMANITIES AND SOCIAL SCIENCE DEPARTMENT

- 39. Prof. Rajendra Kumar, Professor
- 40. Prof. Vikas Choudhary, Professor

MECHANICAL ENGINEERING DEPARTMENT

- 41. Prof. Ajai Jain, Professor
- 42. Prof. Dinesh Khanduja, Professor
- 43. Prof. Dixit Garg, Professor
- 44. Prof. Gian Bhushan, Professor
- 45. Prof. Hari Singh, Professor
- 46. Prof. P.C. Tewari, Professor
- 47. Prof. S.S. Rattan, Professor
- 48. Prof. Sudhir Kumar, Professor
- 49. Prof. Surjit Angra, Professor

MATHEMATICS DEPARTMENT

50. Prof. A.S.V. Ravikanth, Associate Prof. & Head

PHYSICS DEPARTMENT

51. Prof. Neena Jaggi, Professor

erry prusuld-16.08:16

/n/

Business Administration

52. Dr. Neeraj Kaushik, Associate Professor & Head

Secretary, Senate

53. Sh. G.R. Samantaray, Registrar Incharge

The following members could not attend the meeting:

Sr. No. Name of the Senator (S)

- Prof. Konduri Raja Rajeswari
- 2. Prof. Yashwant Singh
- 3. Prof. D.K. Nauriyal

Senate Members (Department & alphabetical order) Civil Engineering Department

- 1. Prof. Anupam Mittal
- 2. Prof. H.K. Sharma
- Prof. Mahesh Pal
- 4. Prof. V.P. Singh

Electrical Engineering Department

- 5. Prof. A. Swarup
- 6. Prof. Ashwani Kumar

Humanities & Social Sciences Department

7. Prof. Ms. Kiran

Mechanical Engineering Department

- 8. Prof. Pankaj Chandna
- 9. Prof. V.K. Bajpai

Mathematics Department

10. Prof. Paras Ram

Physics Department

- 11. Prof. Ashavani Kumar
- 12. Prof. J.K. Quamara

sons butter

1/

Page 3 of 5

At the outset, Registrar I/C and Secretary, Senate welcomed the members and requested the Chair to address the Senate.

The Chairman, Senate welcomed the Senators and informed that the 40th meeting of the BOG of the Institute is scheduled to be convened on 19.08.2016. It was informed that the Special meeting of the Senate was being convened to consider the agenda relating to nomination of the Senate on the Board.

Further, the Chair requested the Dean (Academic) to present the agenda. Thereafter, Dean (Academic) presented the agenda.

Item 28.1 To consider the nomination of one Professor and one Associate Professor as nominee of the Senate on the Board of Governors, NIT Kurukshetra

The discussion on the agenda commenced with the narration by Prof. Surender Deswal regarding the outcome of a committee constituted in the past to prepare the seniority list of the faculty. It was also stated that since the committee had not submitted its report thus far, it was not possible for the Senate to follow the nomination by seniority. The issue was deliberated in details. Finally, it was resolved to follow the 'Tentative Seniority List' of the faculty in the Institute and also not to nominate those faculty members who had been on the Board in the past. Thus, the following two faculty members were nominated:

- 1. Prof. Akhilesh Swarup, Professor Electrical Engineering
- 2. Ms. Sunita Chauhan, Associate Professor, Electrical Engineering

Further, the committee that had been entrusted to prepare the seniority list of the Institute was reconstituted in light of one of the members, namely Prof. VK Sehgal voluntarily opting out of the committee. The newly constituted committee comprised of:

1. Prof. K.S. Sandhu, Professor, Electrical Engg. Deptt.

Member

Chairman

2. Prof. S N Sachdeva Professor, Civil Engg. Deptt.

3. Prof. Surender Deswal Professor, Civil Engg.

Member

4. Registrar

Secretary

Page 4 of 5



land butter

The Committee was requested to give its report in one month after the date of circulation of the minutes of this meeting.

The Senate confirmed the minutes of the agenda.

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

(G.R. Samantaray)

Registrar Incharge & Secretary, Senate

NIT Kurukshetra

(Baldev Setia)
Dean (Academic)
NIT Kurukshetra

Director & Chairman, Senate

NIT Kurukshetra