NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY (DEEMED UNIVERSITY) Kurukshetra -136119

Minutes of the 5th meeting of Standing Committee on Senate Affairs held on 5th June. 2007 at 11:00 AM in the Board Room of the Institute.

The following were present:

- 1. Dr. M. N. Bandyopadhyay, Director
- 2. Prof. R. K. Bansal, Dean (Academic)
- Dr. S. K. Sharma, Dean (E, EM & C) 3.
- Dr. V. K. Sehgal, Chairman, Civil Engg. Deptt. 4.
- Dr. K. S. Kasana, Chairman, Mech. Engg. Deptt. 5.
- Dr. S. K. Chakravarti, Chairman, Physics Deptt. 6.
- 7. Dr. D. V. Singh, Chairman, Mathematics Deptt.
- Dr. R. C. Bhattacharjee, Chairman, BA Deptt. 8.
- Dr. K. S. Sandhu, Professor in Elect. Engg. Deptt. 9. (in place of Chairman, EE Deptt.)
- Dr. Baldev Setia, Professor Incharge (Acad. & Senate Affairs) 10. 11.
- Dr. Brahmjit Singh, Chairman, Electronics & Comm. Engg. Deptt. 12.
- Dr. Rajendra Deshwal, Chairman, Hum. & S. S. Deptt.
- Dr. Dinesh Kumar, Chairman, Chemistry Deptt. 13.
- Dr. Mayank Dave, Chairman, Computer Engg. Deptt. 14.

The following decisions were taken:

To discuss the Ph.D. case of Mrs. Maniula Sharma. Asstt. Professor. 1. Department of Humanities & Social Sciences.

The case of Ph.D. Registration of Mrs. Manjula Sharma, Asstt. Professor, Department of Humanities & Social Sciences was discussed at length. All issues commencing from her first application on Dec. 21, 2004, minutes of BOS of Humanities & Social Sciences dated 8.4.2005, her academic qualifications, new situation arising out of the increase in age of superannuation to 65 years were discussed in details. The members were of the opinion that she be allowed to register herself for Ph.D. Degree at NIT, Kurukshetra.

To consider the reguest of students regarding change in the factor 9 for conversion of CGPA to percentage of marks in B. Tech. Degree course.

The Institute rules provided for the system of generating CGPA. In order to compute the percentage of marks, CGPA obtained by a student is to be multiplied by the factor 9.

The students graduating during the Session May/June, 2007 and those entering B.Tech. final year have requested that this factor 9 be converted to 10.

The matter was discussed and some method suggested. However anticipating some pitfalls, it was decided to transfer the task to the Committee (headed by Dr. Krishna Gopal, Dean (P&D) for reviewing the B.Tech. scheme.

3. Any other item:

(i) Dr. Chakarvarti raised the issue of delay in evaluation of Ph.D. thesis.

It was decided that to evolve the mechanism in which the perspective examiner was required to give his/her willingness within 4 weeks for evaluating the thesis. In case the willingness to evaluate the thesis was not received within 4 weeks, the Chairman, Senate is empowered to replace the examiner from the then list of examiner approved by BOS.

- (ii) Dr. K.S. Kasana, Chairman, Mechanical Engg. Deptt. suggested that the course of Mechtronics (Course No.MET 413) be shifted to the **Departmental Electives** from the existing list of **Open Electives** in the 7th Semester of B.Tech students. This proposal was approved and implemented w.e.f. July 2007 session.
- (iii) The members also discussed that 95 dialing facility be provided on the telephone of all the Chairmen of the teaching deptt. Director assured that after discussing the same with Prof. in-charge (telephone) it will be provided to them.

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

(Baldev Setia)
Professor Incharge
(Acad. & Senate Affairs)

M 12/7/2.7

(M. N. Bandyopadhyay)

Director