MINUTES 20th SPECIAL MEETING OF SENATE



NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY KURUKSHETRA

HELD ON: 10th May, 2012

NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY KURUKSHETRA-136119

Minutes of the 20th special meeting of the Senate of National Institute of Technology, Kurukshetra held on 10th May, 2012 at 4.30 p.m in the Senate Hall of the Institute.

The following were present:

NIT, Kurukshetra Member 2. Dr. V K Sehgal Member Professor & Dean (Faculty Welfare) Civil Engineering Department NIT, Kurukshetra Member 3. Dr. S K Sharma Member Professor & Dean (Students' Welfare) Member Mechanical Engineering Department Member NIT, Kurukshetra Member 4. Dr. A K Gupta Member Professor & Dean (Academic) Electronics & Comm. Engg. Department NIT, Kurukshetra Member 5. Dr. (Ms.) Minati Baral Member Professor & Head Member Chemistry Department NIT, Kurukshetra 6. Dr. D K Soni Member	
 3. Dr. S K Sharma Professor & Dean (Students' Welfare) Mechanical Engineering Department NIT, Kurukshetra 4. Dr. A K Gupta Professor & Dean (Academic) Electronics & Comm, Engg, Department NIT, Kurukshetra 5. Dr. (Ms.) Minati Baral Professor & Head Chemistry Department NIT, Kurukshetra 6. Dr. D K Soni 	Ē
 4. Dr. A K Gupta Professor & Dean (Academic) Electronics & Comm. Engg. Department NIT, Kurukshetra 5. Dr. (Ms.) Minati Baral Professor & Head Chemistry Department NIT, Kurukshetra 6. Dr. D K Soni 	
5. Dr. (Ms.) Minati Barai Professor & Head Chemistry Department NIT, Kurukshetra 6. Dr. D K Soni Membe	
6. Dr. D K Soni	
Professor & Head Civil Engineering Department NIT, Kurukshetra (Dr. D.K Soni was present but did not sign).	E.
7. Dr. Kuldeep Kumar Membe Professor & Head Mathematics Department NIT, Kurukshetra	•
8. Dr. N K Gupta Membe Professor Civil Engineering Department NIT, Kurukshetra	

 Dr. S S Rattan Professor Mechanical Engineering Department NIT, Kurukshetra 	Member
10. Dr. K S Sandhu Professor Electrical Engineering Department NIT, Kurukshetra	Member
11. Dr. Sudhir Kumar Professor & Head Mechanical Engineering Department NIT Kurukshetra	Member
12. Dr. Baldev Setia Professor Civil Engineering Department NIT, Kurukshetra	Member
13. Dr. Rajender Kumar Professor & Head Department of Humanities & Social Sciences NIT, Kurukshetra	Member
14. Dr. Diwan Singh Professor Civil Engineering Department NIT, Kurukshetra	Member
15. Dr. S K Madan Professor Civil Engineering Department NIT, Kurukshetra	Member
16. Dr. H K Sharma Professor Civil Engineering Department NIT, Kurukshetra	Member
17. Dr. (Ms.) Lillie Dewan Professor & Head Electrical Engineering Department NIT, Kurukshetra	Member
18. Dr. S N Sachdeva Professor Civil Engineering Department NIT, Kurukshetra	Member

ъ

19. Dr. Dixit Garg	Member
Professor Mechanical Engineering Department NIT, Kurukshetra	
20. Dr. S.K. Mahna Professor Physics Department NIT, Kurukshetra	Member
21. Dr. B K Kaushik Professor & Head Physics Department NIT, Kurukshetra	Member
22. Dr. P J Philip Professor Department of Humanities & Social Sciences NIT, Kurukshetra	Member
23. Dr. J K Quamara Professor Physics Department NIT, Kurukshetra	Member
24. Dr. Surjit Angra Professor Mechanical Engineering Department NIT Kurukshetra	Member
25.Dr. G L Pahuja Professor Electrical Engineering Department NIT Kurukshetra	Member
26. Dr. K K Singh Professor & Prof. I/C Acad. Affairs & Senate Civil Engineering Department NIT Kurukshetra	Member
27. Dr. Subodh Ranjan Professor Civil Engineering Department NIT Kurukshetra	Member
28. Dr. (Ms.) Ratna Dahiya Professor Electrical Engineering Department NIT Kurukshetra	Member

29. Dr. Anupam Mittal	Member
Professor Civil Engineering Department NIT, Kurukshetra	
30. Dr. Dinesh Khanduja Professor Mechanical Engineering Department NIT Kurukshetra	Member
31. Dr. R.K. Sharma Professor Electronics & Comm. Engineering Department NIT Kurukshetra	Member
32.Dr. O.P Sahu Professor & Head Electronics & Comm. Engg. Department NIT, Kurukshetra	Member
33. Dr. S M Gupta Professor. & COE Civil Engineering Department NIT Kurukshetra	Member
34. Dr. Arun Goel Professor Civil Engineering Department NIT, Kurukshetra	Member
35. Dr. Dinesh Kumar Professor Chemistry Department NIT, Kurukshetra	Member
36. Dr. D.P. Singh Professor Chemistry Department NIT, Kurukshetra	Member
37. Dr. Jitender Chhabra Associate Professor & Head Computer Engineering Department NIT, Kurukshetra	Special Invitee
38. Sh.G.R.Samantray Registrar I/C & Secretary, Senate NIT, Kurukshetra	Secretary

The following members could not attend the meeting

1.	Dr. Chandra Shekhar Director	Member
	Central Electronics Engg. Research Institute (CEER Pilani (Raj.)	(1)
2.	Prof. (Ms.) Shashikala Achyut Gangal ISRO Chair Professor Department of Electronics Science University of Pune, Pune-411 007	Member
3.	Prof. Rajendra Rai Head of the Department Department of Economics Faculty of Social Sciences Banaras Hindu University Varanasi-221 005	Member
4.	Dr. V K Arora Professor & Dean (P&D) Civil Engineering Department NIT, Kurukshetra	Member
5.	Dr. A Swarup Professor & Dean (Research & Consultancy) Electrical Engineering Department NIT, Kurukshetra	Member
6.	Dr. Brahmjit Singh Professor Electronics & Comm. Engg. Department NIT, Kurukshetra	Member
7.	Dr. R C Bhattacharjee Professor Civil Engineering Department NIT, Kurukshetra	Member
8.	Dr. R S Bhatia Professor Electrical Engineering Department NIT Kurukshetra	Member

5.

Item 20.1:

To consider and approve decisions taken in 39th and 40th meetings of Standing Committee on Senate Affairs (SCSA)

The Senate approved the decisions taken in 39th and 40th meetings of Standing Committee on Senate Affairs. Prof. Subodh Ranjan pointed out that the total credits for the revised M.Tech scheme are 62 instead of 60 as mentioned in the minutes of 40th meeting of SCSA. It was pointed out by Prof. K.K. Singh that in Item 2 of 40th SCSA meeting, the date of starting of M.Tech programs is not mentioned in the minutes. It was decided that both the M.Tech programs will be started w.e.f. the academic session 2012-13 and the minutes of 40th SCSA meeting stand corrected accordingly.

Item 20.2:

Approval to starting of new M.Tech programs in i) Embedded System Design ii) Renewable Energy Systems

The Senate approved the starting of M.Tech courses in: i) Embedded System Design and ii) Renewable Energy Systems along with other provisions as proposed under Item 20.2.

G.R. Samnatray 10/05/12-

Registrar I/C & Secretary, Senate NIT, Kurukshetra